Sarasota County includes the city of Sarasota, though the majority of Sarasota County residents live in unincorporated areas outside of its four municipalities. Sarasota County is one of only 20 Florida counties with its own charter, adopted in 1971. Sarasota County is governed by a five-member county commission, where each commissioner serves a four-year term and resides in and represents a single district, but is elected countywide. See below for helpful Sarasota Government links for residents and visitors.


Living in Sarasota is a pleasure, but it makes it easier if you know who to speak with when you have a question or issue that needs to be resolved. See below for some of the most frequently visited links for Sarasota government.

Sarasota Utilities  |  Sarasota Tax Collector  |  Sarasota Property Appraiser
Sarasota Health Department  |  Sarasota Supervisor of Elections
Sarasota Public Works  |  Sarasota Human Services


Luck favors the prepared, and it’s always prudent to know who and where to turn to in the case of an emergency. Listed below is the essential emergency information and links for Sarasota residents. IN CASE OF EMERGENCY, DIAL 9-1-1

Sarasota Emergency Services  |  Sarasota Sheriff’s Department
Sarasota Fire Rescue  |  Sarasota Memorial Hospital
Sarasota Hurricane Preparedness  | Poison Control Center